Friday, November 12, 2021

Something About Gaul

Swelling with pride.

The site already touched on the name of Stercoraria, the tiny village in Gaul where Fidgeta was born (Saint Fidgeta and Other Parodies; 11), so why not address Gaul this time around. Gaul was a region recognized throughout the Antiquity and the Middle Ages and roughly corresponding to modern France, Luxembourg, Belgium, and pieces of other nearby countries. Roman control of Gaul lasted from the 1st century BC up until it fell to the Franks during the Battle of Soissons in 486 – a mere four years after Fidgeta was born.

Gaul was commonly divided into five parts:
  • Gallia Aquitania
  • Gallia Belgica
  • Gallia Celtica
  • Gallia Cisalpina
  • Gallia Narbonensis
I like to think Fidgeta hailed from Gallia Narbonensis since it seems the most southern. Beginning in the second half of the 5th century, as Roman power waned, successive waves of what Bellairs might call "marauding riff-raff" entered the Narbonensis area: Visigoths, Ostrogoths, Burgundians, and Franks. And as we shall soon see, the Avars, too.

Anyway, Ernie Jones of HistoryDen talks us through this time period in his video about the Middle Ages.

No comments: