About John Bellairs

John Bellairs
John Anthony Bellairs (1938-1991) is the award-winning, best-selling author of the fifteen acclaimed Gothic mystery novels in the Lewis Barnavelt, Anthony Monday, and Johnny Dixon series, including The House with a Clock in Its Walls (1973), The Treasure of Alpheus Winterborn (1978), and The Curse of the Blue Figurine (1983). Many of his books were illustrated by prominent artist-illustrator Edward Gorey.

Bellairs also is the author of Saint Fidgeta and Other Parodies (1966), The Pedant and the Shuffly (1968), and the much-respected fantasy, The Face in the Frost (1969), staring wizards Prospero and Roger Bacon.

Bellairs was born in Marshall, Michigan, earned degrees from Notre Dame and the University of Chicago, taught at various Midwestern and New England colleges, and later lived and wrote in Haverhill, Massachusetts. He died in 1991.

His characters live on in the compleated and continued works by author Brad Strickland. Bellairs was honored by his hometown in 1992 with a historical marker outside the Cronin House, the famed residence serving as inspiration for The House with a Clock in its Walls, and later, in 2000, was inducted into the Haverhill, Massachusetts, Hall of Fame.